Search Just Soul
Home Artists Albums Interviews Events Contests Forum Store Links
Ruben Studdard
  Ruben Studdard  
Ruben Studdard

Ruben Studdard became known nationwide as the second winner of the famed American television show American Idol in 2003. Ruben was born in Birmingham, Alabama in the late 70s. He began singing in church as a youngster. His love of music continued as he grew and in 2000, Ruben graduated from college with a degree in voice. In 2002, Ruben decided to audition for the American Idol show with a fellow member of the singing group he was in at the time. For Ruben, it has been full steam ahead since then. During the American Idol competition, Ruben's cool demeanor, southern charm and smooth vocals earned him the moniker the velvet teddy bear by Gladys Knight. It is a lovable handle that is sure to follow him throughout his career. But Ruben did not win the competition without a bite of controversy. Votes were very close between him and fellow contestant for the finale. In fact, Ruben won by just a few thousand or so votes. Ruben's first album "Soulful" was released in late 2003 and reached number one on the R&B charts. Singles from the album include, "Superstar", "Flying Without Wings", "What If", and "Sorry 2004". For his next work, the singer decided to change things and release an inspirational album entitled, "I Need An Angel". The album made it to number six on the R&B charts and proved that Ruben is an immensely talented and a versatile singer.


After a brief break, Ruben recently released "The Return" a rhythm and blues album. The first single from the album "Change Me", was written/produced by the Underdogs which include Tank and Steve Russell (from 80s group Troop), among others.


Chantay M. Wesley [Just Soul]

Soulful (2004) [J Records]

  1. Sorry 2004
  2. No Ruben
  3. How Can You Mend a Broken Heart
  4. Take the Shot
  5. What Is Sexy
  6. What If
  7. Superstar
  8. Can I Get Your Attention
  9. For All We Know
  10. Play Our Song
  11. Don't Quit on Me
  12. After the Candles Burn
  13. Flying Without Wings
  14. We Have Not Forgotten
I Need An Angel (2005) [J-Records]

  1. I Need An Angel
  2. Center of My Joy
  3. Goin' Up Yonder
  4. Fix It, Jesus
  5. Amazing Grace
  6. Shout to the Lord
  7. Running Back to You
  8. Restoration
  9. We Have Not Forgotten
  10. I Surrender All
  11. Ain't No Need to Worry
  12. Don't You Give Up
I Need An Angel
I Need An Angel
The Return (2006) [J-Records]

  1. The Return (Of the Velvet Teddy Bear)
  2. Change Me
  3. Make Ya Feel Beautiful
  4. Get U Loose
  5. Our Story
  6. One Side
  7. What Tha Business Is
  8. Rather Just Not Know
  9. Ain't No Party
  10. Listen To Ya Heart
  11. I'm Not Happy
  12. To Da Crib
  13. Blow Ya Mind
  14. If Only For One Night
The Return
The Return
Mailinglist Contact Us About Back
© 2006 Just Soul. All Rights Reserved.